The Hours banner.jpg

Look inside


Category: Fiction

Pages: 102

On Sale: June 29, 2021

Available for Pre-order

ISBN: 978-1-7775139-0-0

Journey through History with Bruce Meyer

Category: General Fiction | Literary Fiction

In the course of social isolation, social distancing, and social solitude, every hour can seem to last a year. In The Hours, Bruce Meyer presents six stories that showcase how individuals responded to pandemics throughout history with dignity and determination. Whether it is on an island cut off from the rest of the world and connected only by an aging ferry link, through Zoom calls and the realities faced by modern healthcare workers, or through a couple trapped on an abandoned cruiser ship, Meyer depicts the struggle against what we cannot see, and the faith that endures beyond the hardships of the present.

Paperback $14.99

About The Author

Bruce Meyer is author of more than sixty books of poetry, short stories, flash fiction, and non-fiction. His previous collections of fiction are A Chronicle of Magpies (Tightrope Books, 2014), A Feast of Brief Hopes (Guernica Editions, 2018) and Down in the Ground (Guernica Editions, 2020). His stories have won or been shortlisted for numerous international and national prizes including the Anton Chekhov Prize for Very Short Fiction, the Retreat West Short Story Prize, the Bath Short Story Prize, the Fish Short Story Prize, the Tom Gallon Trust Prize for Fiction, the Thomas Morton Prize for Fiction, the Carter V. Cooper Prize for Fiction, and the Strands International Short Story Prize. His stories have been nominated for the Pushcart Prize by The Hong Kong Review and Nunum. He is a Bank of Montreal Fellow in Fiction for Exile Editions and Exile Literary Quarterly. He lives in Barrie, Ontario with his wife, Kerry, and their daughter, Katie, and teaches at Georgian College and Victoria College in the University of Toronto.

Author Photo Bruce Meyer.jpg

Reviews from your most beloved Bookstagrammers


Rachele Lucadamo

Corrina Carabetta

Some Awards Bruce Meyer won